Here It Comes!~

Here Comes the Sun~

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun, 
And I say it’s all right. 
Little darling it’s been a long cold lonely winter, 
Little darling it feels like years since it’s been here. 
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun, 
And I say it’s all right. 
Little darling the smiles returning to their faces, 
Little darling it seems like it’s years since it’s been here, 
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun, 
And I say it’s all right. 
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes. 
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes. 
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes. 
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes. 
Little darling I feel that ice is slowly melting, 
Little darling it seems like years since it’s been clear, 
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun, 
It’s all right, it’s all right. The Beatles~

For us here in Costa Rica, it’s not such a big thing, but for all my friends in those northerly latitudes… this song’s for you. That’s you in Northumbria, England, on the cold North Sea shore; you in Ontario, Canada, where it is below freezing and snowing still I’m sure; you in McMinnville, Oregon, where the snow is six… no, make that ten inches deep; you in Juneau, Alaska, where you probably haven’t seen the sun rise above the horizon for over a month now; you in North Easton, Massachusetts, and all the other “yous” who are in the land of ice and snow and dark.

Have faith, the sun will return.

Alan and I celebrated the Solstice with a roast chicken, stuffing, cranberry sauce, and fresh broccoli. We ate out on the front porch, which is our normal dining area most days, but today it was knock-your-socks-off gorgeous.We finished installing a small pond in our front yard and today we watched as pipilachas (dragonflies) in wonderful colors of red, orange, and blue swooped over it to investigate. A pair of Kiskadees took a bath in the jug we are using as a water fountain, skidding across the water like ducks. Then they stood on the rim, shook themselves dry, turned around, and scooted across again. Other birds saw the commotion and joined in, using the rocks around the pool as launching pads. We also have a resident frog in the pond, now. There isn’t a lot of plant material for it to hide in yet; we have to go on a water plant search soon, but it seems to have decided to stake out its territory before any others. 

Alan found the first of the blooms on the irises he planted last fall. They should be spectacular when they are all in bloom… soon

Author: SC Morgan

I grew up in Oregon and learned not everything is black and white. Now I live in the jungles of Costa Rica where the shades of gray cover the full spectrum. I shoot my mouth off on my blog, social media sites, and sometimes I get published. You can find my blog here: https://scmorgancom.wordpress.com/

8 thoughts on “Here It Comes!~”

  1. Happy Solstice, Sarah!On the radio in the night I listened to an explanation about light reaching the earth, tilting of the planet, etc. But the important thing … as of TODAY there will be a full 2 minutes of additional daylight (in London, is it different further north, more perhaps?) EVERY DAY. A week from now the daylight will be almost 15 minutes more each day, and growing. Hallelujah!Your pond looks lovely, and I love that large pot/jug/fountain. Imagine a frog moving in already, and dragon flies. Beware the alligator and the anaconda … Now, I’m more than a bit OCD, so have to ask … If your dog got into the pool, could it get out on its own?I’m just about to put on my fancy clothes to go to a Christmas luncheon at a posh eatery in a group of about 20. Being collected by car, and brought home. Cailean will not be attending this one, but I’ll try for a doggy bag. I KNOW we will have Christmas crackers and silly paper hats to put on. The carers on duty and I will be the only sober ones there if last year is the standard.By the way, at Sandringham Palace last year the Royal Family and Prince Harry had their Christmas dinner together as usual, and when Prince Charles put on a paper crown he found in his Christmas cracker, the Queen snatched it off his head …It’s clear and weirdly “warm” at 45F. But, here comes the sun!Merry Berries!R.

    Like

  2. Oh, yeah. Sympathy for everyone but those of us pinned along the 36th parallel. I know where I am because I once read a great western novel called “North of 36,” which detailed a cattle drive to Dodge City.And worse, at the end of Ross’ comment I arrive parallel to a weather forecast noting it is 82F and partly sunny in your environs.Bah, humbug!Scrooge

    Like

  3. I don’t mind the snow, the cold, the wind because I can come here in blogland to visit you where I am certain to find nice warm and cozy photos of your tropical paradise. Its snowing as I type, and blowing it around so I imagine come daybreak I’ll decide not to make another trip out to forage for seasonal goodies.Your pond looks magnificent and the next thing you know, the creatures that live near you will begin coming for visitsWhatever your plans for the season may they be filled with joy and happiness.

    Like

  4. I have been talking with family in the Pacific Northwest and their stories of snow actually makes me nostalgic for it. But the toes I once frost bit remind me that the “idea” of snow and the “physical reality” of snow are quite separate entities. And they are only at the 45th parallel. I will be content to remain here and watch the wild creatures move into the new pond. Peace and happy New Year to you all.

    Like

  5. As I sit here at my lightbox, fighting the SAD that visits me every winter here in Vermont, I’m delighted to see your lovely pictures of warmer climes. Each day in the past week there have been a few more seconds of light, and we’re pretty happy about that. Of course, yesterday it was close to 55 degrees and all the snow melted, so now everything is just plain ugly. Oh, for a fresh coat of snow . . .Cheers and happy new year!

    Like

  6. Hey Ms Z. Happy New Year to you as well. The light will return to the frozen north. In this we must trust. Hope you and your family had a great holiday season. Wishing all of you the best from we two. sm

    Like

  7. Just so you know . . . I picked up an application for a passport.;>) Beautiful yard. Great job on that project. You're still nesting like you're going to stay?

    Like

Leave a comment