Film Reel Rolling Backward

A celluloid life

is easier

Splice and mend

cut out the mistakes

Erase the grief

 

The year I spent fucking my way across Europe

Sam & Dave spilled out over pirate airwaves

off the Isle of Man

 

Possibly that

could be discarded

Culls for the cutting room floor.

 

I was Mustang Sally

doing desperado sex,

on-the-run-no-questions-asked sex.

unprotected sex

In a time of free love

 

What I needed

most

was comfort

Relief from the pain

 

Cut and splice

his death

so shattering it could have been my own

So young

 

But we cannot roll back the film

We go on

All those mistakes

make us who we are

 

[Scintilla Project prompt, day 10: 1. Sometimes we wish we could hit the rewind button. Talk about an experience that you would do over if you could. If you would like to sign up for this storytelling fortnight, click here, or on the icon in the right menu. It’s Scintilla. It pushes your boundaries.]

Author: SC Morgan

I grew up in Oregon and learned not everything is black and white. Now I live in the jungles of Costa Rica where the shades of gray cover the full spectrum. I shoot my mouth off on my blog, social media sites, and sometimes I get published. You can find my blog here: https://scmorgancom.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Film Reel Rolling Backward”

  1. Wow, Sarah. First of all, nice post. I didn’t know you wrote poetry. I’m impressed by your bravery… Sam and Dave, Mustang Sally… boy do they bring back memories.
    Funny what we regret.

    Like

  2. Hi, Myra. Yah, I make a stab at writing poetry. I’ve had a couple published but mostly I do it sort of like this one, string some words together as they pour out of my memory/head/emotions and see where they go. This one could use polishing, I think… but there it is. And, yes, it is funny what we regret and interesting that the more I work on this supposed memoir, as Paul P. likes to say, the more that summer–the dividing line–comes rushing back.

    Like

Leave a comment